Knock Knock Who’s There?

dsc_0015

“The mind is an infinite universe and one must be careful not to drown in it, neither should one be careless as to not make the most of it”.

I say this because I sometimes feel like I’m walking about with this HUGE factory in my head; constantly grinding, turning and churning out products. Some products are so unique and exquisite that in my excitement of coming across them, they escape my grasp within minutes, only to resurface at another time somewhere down the production line.

I have therefore decided I will BLOG OUT some of the products from my ever spinning, huge and loud factory of a mind!

First the basics. I am 30 years old. I am African; specifically, Nigerian. I am a Christian and love Jesus (do not roll your eyes!). I live in the UK. My husband and I have been married for a little over four years (He’s AMAZING by the way!). I have been on a new career path for the past few months.

“How does this matter in the grand scheme of things?” you ask.

It doesn’t!

This is my polite (Maybe cryptic) way of introducing myself because I am a firm believer that proper introductions and first impressions matter a lot. We can be so caught up in the rudimentary of daily living: going to work, keeping business appointments, grocery shopping, making dinner, going for a hair fix at the salon, going to church on Sundays, posting selfies on Facebook, etc. that we forget that in doing these things, we are constantly introducing ourselves and making first impressions.

The other day, I was grocery shopping (YES! I do rudimentary too!). Back to my story, I finished with the scanning, selecting and self-controlling and then wheeled to the till. On getting there, I quickly read the name tag on the lady at the counter; something I have been doing for some time now, called her by her name, smiled and asked: “how you doing?” (Wendy Williams’ style without the hand movements of course. No need for drama). She looked tired and couldn’t wait to be done with me BUT, she smiled and we mumbled words back and forth and then bid each other a good night.

Now, did that prevent world hunger? I think not! My thought, however, is; every day and with everyone we meet, we are constantly being asked: “Knock knock who’s there?” Now you may say “Well that’s their problem and none of my concern.” True! BUT for every time YOU do not respond, they may get ‘a gorilla, a witch, a ghost or a fierce scaly dragonall wearing the same pair of slippers!’ as a response.

Will this set you on a path of being well-liked, with loads of friends and living a better life? NOT A CHANCE! That is not the point. The point is, if we are conscious of how our actions or inactions can brighten, ease or reassure the next person we meet, maybe, just maybe, we’ll have the right answer when asked: “knock knock who’s there?”

 

 – (Excerpts from Knock Knock Who’s There by Sally Grindley and Anthony Browne)

4 thoughts on “Knock Knock Who’s There?

  1. Incredible! This blog looks exactly like my old one! It’s on a entirely different subject but
    it has pretty much the same page layout and design. Wonderful choice
    of colors!

    Like

  2. I’ve been browsing online more than 2 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all website
    owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the
    net will be a lot more useful than ever before.

    Like

Leave a Reply

