50 Shades of Friends – PART 2

befunky-collage-1

“You just call on me, brother, when you need a hand
We all need somebody to lean on.
I just might have a problem that you’ll understand,
We all need somebody to lean on”

(Lyric excerpt from ‘Lean on Me’ by Bill Withers)

So, it turned out that after the first part of this post, most of my friends wanted to know what shade they were.

Some ‘people’ were quick to spot themselves (Praise God). I was however surprised some ‘friends’ couldn’t tell despite the fact that I was practically handing them a mirror to look at (description).

Having to write more about friends has got me thinking that everyone (including that friend you would quickly insist is a nemesis hounding you from your previous 3 lives) has a specific part to play in our lives and we need to realise this so we do not ‘over-expect’ from people.

In my opinion, there is no such thing as an all-purpose friend (Except that friend is Jesus). Thankfully, I think I have got the circus – the good, the getting there and the ‘others’. So, here’s the 411 on the rest of my 50 shades of friends.

Spot YOU!

Soft Purple – My soft purple friends are generally on the quieter side than me. They are usually very clever and seem to know lots of stuff. However, I would have to ask or pry that knowledge out of them as they never ‘give’ until you ask. I believe they are the reason for –

‘Until now you have not asked for anything in my name. Ask and you will receive, and your joy will be complete’

(From the bible – book of John chapter 16 verse 24. John is after Luke and before Acts)

These friends are not stingy. They just make receiving exhausting. Phew!

Blessed Brown – These group of friends ‘bless’ me and ‘sister’ me and ‘shalom’ me all day it feels like I never left the church. They inspire me in my faith, they are very kind and are good folks. However, you get the feeling that if you were to spend a whole day with them, then you had better be prepared to ‘pray without ceasing’. Amen, sister!

Forever Gold – These are friends that have unbelievable staying power. ‘Out of sight, out of mind’ holds no meaning with these group of friends. These friends will stay in touch with me no matter what I do or where I go. Sometimes it may be the occasional phone call or the frequent text, WhatsApp, Viber or Facebook messages (and I am not talking about forwarding broadcast messages. That isn’t ‘forever gold’, that’s just plain off colour!). They always wish me well and will bring a smile to my face.

Steady Black – These friends keep me grounded. They’ve known me for so long or know me so well that they do not need an invitation nor are afraid to say “girl, you messed up”. Like I said, because they do not need an invitation, they can be annoying because they are not particularly good at oiling your hair and singing ‘Kumbaya’ with you. However, you can be sure that they will always be truthful with you.

Fun Violet – This is the good time friend. If I am having a bad day, this is the friend to call. They know just what to do to chase the blues away, be it to chat on the phone for ages, go out for coffee/lunch/dinner, go see a movie or just visit you at home and start a party with whatever they can find (even if it’s pistachios, Pepsi and party music). These friends, like we say in Nigeria, are ‘correct’ and ‘current’ (meaning they are on point/good to have). Usually, they know a thing or two about fashion and being stylish.

There is the tendency that you may consider them vain. However, from my experience, I think they appreciate the finer things of life more than you (I) do which is great because left to your (my) own devices, you (I) would be living under a rock!

Sweet Cream – This is your ‘Yes you can’ friend. It doesn’t matter what you do or the decisions you make. They are forever optimistic and will cheer you on full throttle. The sweet cream friend is great to have as they are good for your morale. Just make sure you’ve got the ‘Steady Blacks’ to ask you the hard questions and tell you straight up “that is the stupidest thing I have ever heard”.

Perplexed Ash – That friend you always try to avoid but never manage to because they are pros at entrapment and quick as Cheetahs. Take heart! We all have our different crosses to carry. So, take courage and soldier on.

Now, you know!

So, time for the BIG question… WHAT IS YOUR SHADE?

Let’s find out…

Leave a Reply

