Festive Hustles

dsc_0056

Christmas, my child, is love in action. Every time we love, every time we give, it’s Christmas

– Dale Evans

Christmas day has come and gone but the spirit of Christmas is still very much in the air. With all the bustle and drama of the past few days, a lot has happened but some things haven’t changed such as:

  1. The earth is still spinning and Donald Trump is still the president-elect.
  2. People are still spending money and the shops are still not satisfied.
  3. All things being equal, the cycle of life will continue and we’ll be back here again.

That said, Christmas 2016 came with its own memorable moments and here are some of them…

Christmas Concerts and Carols

15585323_1393161984029438_7873630519837321830_o

the best way to spread Christmas cheer is singing loud for all the hear

– Buddy The elf

Nothing sets the mood for Christmas like Christmas songs and Carols. I had the privilege of seeing some amazing carol nights at some of the local churches as well as take part in the annual Christmas concert organised my local church here in Aberdeen, Kings Community Church.

Christmas Lunch

dsc_0014

In typical Nigerian fashion, Christmas day was a fun circus!

In the spirit of continuing the tradition, cooking and preparation started in the early hours of the morning with a few calls placed to confirm (or get a vague idea) of those who’ll be coming around for the meal (Circus people).

Surprisingly, the weather was sunny and warm and perfect for a chill-out day with friends and family.

First Snow Sighting

dsc_0044

One of the things I love about Christmas is SNOW. If there ever was an organisation of snow lovers, I would probably be a member.

Since the start of December (Okay! Maybe since November), I have been wishin’ and hopin’ and prayin’ for it to snow. After all, Christmas without snow is like Nigeria without Lagos (I don’t even want to think about it!)

So, waking up this morning (actually hubby woke me up) to the sight of falling snow, got me animated and clicking away with my camera out in the cold, in my pyjamas.

Winter has come!

Boxing Day Sale Frenzy

befunky-collage7

The first time I went out for the boxing day sales here in the UK, I shopped like there was no tomorrow and ended up returning some items and later not using half of what I decided to keep. The following year, my shopping frenzy was better than the first but I still felt I could do better.

This year, I was prepared!

There are 359 days to the next Christmas. So, there will be bills to see to, mouths to feed, projects to attend to and dinner dates with the hubby to keep the fire burning (Mmhmm! love isn’t cheap).

After a little over an hour at the mall and 5 items in tow, I felt I had got the things I needed.

Thank you, Mr Sales!

What Next?

Christmas sure has been fun and with only a few days to the end of the year, I guess it’s that time to reflect and plan.

So, whatever is left of this Christmas season… make it count!

 

Leave a Reply

