Star Wars Going Rogue

rogue-one-japan-poster-header-1200x720

Congratulations. You’re being rescued. Please do not resist” – K-2SO

Although I grew up on the Star Trek side of the fence (Live long and prosper), I have always been kind and supportive of my Star Wars neighbours (May the force be with you).

I try to keep up with the Star Wars universe;

  • Episode I – The phantom Menace (Can’t remember what this one was about)
  • Episode III – Revenge of the Sith (I have a vague recollection)
  • Episode VII – The Force Awakens (I remember!)
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (I got you!)

I can also vaguely remember seeing clips from one or more of the older Star Wars movies (A new hope or return of the Jedi) but I was too busy with the likes of Voltron: Defender of the Universe and Dungeons and Dragons.

That said, I am still a friend to the Star Wars franchise because it’s got certain elements I enjoy in a movie;

  1. Action packed (Mmhmm!)
  2. Sci-Fi
  3. Space and the imagination of worlds beyond.
  4. Good acting (especially in The Force Awakens)

So, when a friend suggested that a group of us go see the new Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, I was expectant. I thought it was interesting (and good business acumen) that the makers of the Star Wars franchise decided to create stand-alone stories that were independent of the storyline of its various trilogies.

Plus, I was looking forward to watching Donnie Yen on the big screen again after a long time.

So, on to the cinema we went!

To be honest, aside from Felicity Jones, Donnie Yen, Mads Mikkelson and Forest Whitaker, I hadn’t heard of the other actors. That did not affect my expectation though because THIS was Star Wars!

The storyline of rebels fighting some higher power known as the empire in some never-ending war, the empire in search of a brilliant scientist hiding away in some planet because he refuses to build a weapon of mass destruction that would obliterate humanity (or in this case beings living on planets), and the scientist’s kin, (a daughter in this case) saving the day or championing the cause to save the day –  was nothing new.

However, it was well developed. (although from the moment you see him on-screen, you can tell that Galen Erso, played by Mads Mikkelson has the mark of death).

Forest Whitaker as Saw Gerrera was underutilised for an actor of his talent (even for a cameo). He, however, embodied his character (whatever it was).

Diego Luna as Captain Cassian Andor was very convincing in his role and had very good screen presence. I actually looked forward to his appearances and his expressions were on point.

Felicity Jones, in my opinion, was not the right cast for the role of Jyn Erso. Try as much as I may (believe me, I tried!), I struggled to connect with her portrayal of the tough but vulnerable Jyn Erso.

befunky-collage13

Donnie Yen and Alan Tudyk as the blind Chirrut Imwe and the reprogrammed droid K-2SO (reminds me of Sheldon from Big Bang Theory) take the cake in the entire casting. Their comic timing was perfect and they were always a delight to watch onscreen. They both contribute one star each to my final rating.

A quick look on google and I found the background score, which was typical of the Star Wars theme but nothing exceptional was done by Michael Giacchino (same guy who did Doctor Strange).

I was very disappointed (VERY!) at the way the movie ended not to mention the most abrupt and confusing way I have ever seen or imagined!

CGI (Computer Generated Images) gets 1 star as well.

the-art-of-rogue-one-a-star-wars-story-07-concept-art

My overall verdict… 3.5 stars!

Hopefully, Ghost in The Shell and Scarlet Johansson won’t disappoint.

Photo credit 1 – http://www.forbes.com/sites/simonthompson/2016/11/26/where-rogue-ones-opening-weekend-box-office-will-fit-in-the-star-wars-movie-universe-to-date/#5ccdc3823854
Photo credit 2 – http://ru.starwars.wikia.com/wiki/%D0%A7%D0%B8%D1%80%D1%80%D1%83%D1%82_%D0%98%D0%BC%D0%B2%D0%B5
Photo credit 3 – http://www.polygon.com/2016/7/15/12199592/rogue-one-star-wars-droid-k2so
Photo credit 4 -https://uk.pinterest.com/sheriffmike/journal-of-the-whills/
Leave a Reply

