Have Faith

kings

 

There can be miracles
When you believe
Though hope is frail
Its hard to kill
Who knows what miracles
You can achieve
When you believe somehow you will
You will when you believe

(Lyric excerpt from ‘When you believe’ by Whitney Houston and Mariah Carey)

This is my church!

Yes, it is grey, but then so is everything else in Aberdeen.

Each time I walk or drive past this building, I am reminded of so many things: to love those I do not like (Mmhmm), the rotas and the people, sandwiches/cupcakes and Jollof rice (Yum!) and Hillsong.

But more than these, I am reminded to have faith.

I once saw a billboard for a beer commercial that changed my perspective to life. The caption read – “if you settle for nothing but the best, you’ll often get it

With work due to resume (me singing “it’s a hard knock life”), an EP to plan and the rest of the year to deal with (why does January take forever to pass?), I can see why it is very easy to settle into the rut of being a grump.

Ever wondered why you have to ‘look’ for the bright side?

That’s because the dark side is always staring you in the face!

For instance, yesterday I called my hair stylist to make an appointment at the salon only to discover while washing my hair that a good chunk has come off. I mean, THAT, is a lot more hair than Donald Trump has!

dsc_0005

So now I have two choices: worry for the rest of the year about going bald (Grace Jones coming through) or wear a protective and fashionable hairstyle and be grateful for what hair I have left (and secretly hope they do not jump ship as well).

From experience, I know it is easy to expect the worst (very easy). The news makes it easy, the economy makes it easy, the weather makes it easy, the seagulls in Aberdeen make it easy (thankfully they are out of town for now), Fitbit and the war on calories make it easy and whatever else we can think of.

So, why not try something different and expect the good, the better and the best?

“What if things do not work out and you end up disappointed?” you ask

Well, what if things work out and you end up NOT disappointed?

To have faith is not the absence of logic, but rather the belief and hope for the best in the face of the constraining factors we are aware of.

What is faith? It is the confident assurance that something we want is going to happen. It is the certainty that what we hope for is waiting for us, even though we cannot see it up ahead

(From the bible – book of Hebrews chapter 11 verse 1)

Bottom line, this year, have some faith… it is totally free!

Photo 1 credit: http://www.churches-uk-ireland.org/aberd_city.html
10 thoughts on “Have Faith

Leave a Reply

