Limitations, Limitations! Excuses, Excuses!

3209979-no-excuses-quotes

“Expectation without participation is only imagination” 

~ Iain Duthie

My swimming instructor is a 19-year old drill sergeant (ok, that’s an exaggeration and she’s not that bad) and one of my swimming mates is a 70-year old Rockstar!

What do these two people who are generations apart have in common? The answer is simple.

No excuses!

I have always wanted to learn to swim. Please! Splashing in the shallow end of the river isn’t swimming. That is splashing. So, for the past six weeks, I have been taking swimming lessons.

It’s my sixth-week taking swimming lessons and last night I swam on my back without a float! You see, to help me take my swimming lessons more seriously, each time I step into the pool I say to myself…

“Sista, this is the North Sea! The water is cold, icy, crude oil-filled and merciless. Keep that body above water or you will be having tea with Jack Dawson from Titanic”.

Each time I want to stop kicking because my legs are sore and tired (remember I have already spent a good part of my day chasing all those wonderful children), I think of my 70-year old swimming mate and my 19-year old fantastic instructor and I keep kicking (and go back home feeling like a truck fell on me).

89th Annual Academy Awards - Press Room

You know, there’s one place that all the people with the greatest potential are gathered — one place, and that’s the graveyard. People ask me all the time, “What kind of stories do you want to tell, Viola?” And I say, “Exhume those bodies.” Exhume those stories — the stories of the people who dreamed big and never saw those dreams to fruition. People who fell in love and lost. I became an artist, and thank God I did because we are the only profession that celebrates what it means to live a life

~Viola Davis’s acceptance speech at the Oscars 2017.

While I do not 100% agree with her that acting is the only profession that celebrates what it means to live a life, I get her point – acting is the only profession where you can tell the stories of ordinary people and celebrate the lives they are living or have lived (umm, if my interpretation is wrong dear Viola, well, writing is one of the professions where you are allowed to be wrong. Amen!)

Looking at Viola, I could see all her ‘possible’ limitations. For starters, she is no spring chicken nor a Halle Berry. She’s too black, too tall, married, she is a mother, her teeth are too white and her hair is an afro.

It’s ok to have limitations, BUT having an excuse? Well, I’m not so sure but you can check with these folks…

befunky-collage3

Leave a Reply

