Yam Porridge – Quick and Easy Recipe

Picture2

It’s the weekend again and time for another meal prep. This time, I settled for a simpler and easier meal – tis’ only the weekend, no need to go all James Bond over food again (plus dealing with a sore back all week has made the thought of cooking for long rather undesirable).

Picture8

This time, I went for a taste that reminded me of a time when I was carefree, young(er) and played outside until the sound of my mother’s voice rang through the air calling my brother and I in for dinner.

And dinner would be a delicious hot plate of yam porridge (“The way we were” by Barbra Streisand would be a perfect theme song to play at this point but I need to wrap things up so I can get the weekend started, so let’s roll)

What You Need

Picture4

  1. 1 Yam tube
  2. 1/4 cup of ground crayfish
  3. Tomatoes (I used 3)
  4. Scotch bonnet (as required)
  5. 1 Onion
  6. Bonga fish (The Bonga fish is a smoke-dried fish that is commonly found along the coasts of West Africa where yours truly is originally from. BUT you can also use shrimps, clams, squid, whatever you fancy – I’ve got you covered!)
  7. 2 knorr cubes
  8. 1 cup of palm oil
  9. Tomato paste (1 small tin)
  10. Salt

Method

Picture3

  • cut the yam into round segments, peel off the bark and cut into smaller pieces. Have a bowl of water ready and put the yam pieces in immediately after each cut (This will prevent the yam from getting brown as it starts to change colour after you cut. This does not signify spoilage though so do not be alarmed).
  • Add your tomatoes, scotch bonnet, onions (I used 1/2 of it) and ground crayfish into a food processor and blend all together.
  • cut the remaining 1/2 of the onion and set aside as shown in the photo above.
  • Place the yams into a stock pot, add some water (I used 1000ml), 1/2 tsp of salt and boil over medium heat for 15mins. After 15mins, take off heat and drain.

Picture5

  • Tip contents of the blender and Bonga fish into boiled yam, add about 200ml of water (you could also use this to give the blender a good rinse) and cook for 2mins.

Picture6

  • Next, add tomato paste and palm oil and cook for a further 2 mins.

Picture7

  • Now toss the sliced onion in, stir and mash portions of the yam leaving out some chunky bits (mashed bits + chunky bits = Yam porridge)
  • remove from heat after about 2 mins of mashing.

Total time to cook/prepare – 35mins

Now you can enjoy!

In another news, one of the little girls in my nursery randomly walked up to me  – uhuh! I was minding my business, like I always do when I’m not dehydrating myself talking about sharing, playing nicely, the importance of telling the teacher if your friends are not listening to you, explaining why the grinch stole Christmas… In Spring! and ‘why mummy goes to work’, calling out letterland characters to a child learning to spell and my favourite:

Me: “oh dear! boys and girls who spilled some water on the floor?”

Chorus response: “Not me!”

Mmhmm.

Anyway, back to my story, this little girl walked up, handed me two pieces of paper and said “for you Millicent. That’s you and that’s me” and then she burst into the biggest smile I have seen in a long time.

Picture1

Her smile reminded me of one of the reasons I get up every morning – to make a difference that counts. It also reminded me that in all the craziness that we call ‘doing life’,

… life is worth living.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

